|
|
Find an Article
This is a selective list of periodical indexes available online through the CMU Libraries. Other periodical indexes are available online, on CD-ROM, and in print in the Libraries. For assistance in selecting and using databases, please ask at the Reference desk, call (989) 774-3470, e-mail libref@cmich.edu, or contact your subject bibliographer.
Browse Databases by Title
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
- ABI INFORM
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1923 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text.
- Abstracts in Anthropology
Covers linguistics, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and physical anthropology.
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile indexes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
- AGRICOLA
Covering 1970 to the present this database indexes materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science.
- America: History and Life
Provides bibliographic references to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This extensive database indexes articles from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Covers 600 selected journals in chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy, engineering, mathematics, physics, and related fields, 1983 to the present.
- Art Abstracts
Lists articles on all aspects of art. Topics include archaeology, architecture, computer graphics, photography, and film.
- Art Index Retrospective
This
database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world from 1929-1984, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum
bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish,
and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes
reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- ATLA Religion
A database providing a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from over 1400 international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Coverage is from 1949 to the present with selected records dating back to 1818.
- Biological Abstracts
Comprehensive coverage of the world's biological research literature. Covers over 6,000 journals, 1980 to the present.
- Biological and Agricultural Index
A selective database covering 300 key journals in the biological sciences and agriculture, 1983 to the present.
- Business Management
Focuses on how organizations make and implement decisions, develop and launch new strategies, and plan for change. Includes case studies and how-to articles. Covers 1995 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text.
- Business News Publications (LexisNexis)
Business articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts.
- CBCA Education
This collection focuses on Canadian information in the field of education. It is an appropriate source for those interested in teaching, educational research, and educational administration in Canada. Academic, administrative, professional, and topical journals are all included, as are newsletters.
- CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health indexes journal articles from nursing, biomedical, consumer health, rehabilitation sciences, sports medicine, fitness, preventive medicine and other allied health sciences.
- CIS Government Periodicals Universe
Provides detailed subject and author indexing to approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by U.S. government agencies.
- CIS History Universe
Full-text database focusing on American women's history. Includes autobiographies, manuscripts, photographs, journal and reference articles, and considerable legal material.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and abstracting of articles in several hundred journals in the fields of human communication and mass media, and also includes the full text of articles from over 200 journals.
- Computer Database
Find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
Contains full-text from over 1500 sources providing global information on women. Journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are included.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology an related disciplines, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
- EconLit
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to date and is updated monthly.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts provides access to journal articles published in the leading English-language periodicals in the field of education from 1983 to the present. It covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- ERIC
The ERIC database provides annotated references to documents and journal articles on education research and practice from 1966 to the present. It covers every age and sector of education-related topics.
- GEOBASE
Covering 1980 to the present this database indexes worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.
- GeoRef
A comprehensive index with abstracts to the geological research literature, covering journals as well as state and federal geological survey publications, 1785 to the present.
- GenderWatch
A full-text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
- General Reference Center Gold
Search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on business, industry, current events, the arts, science, entertainment, etc.
- General Science Abstracts
A selective database covering 160 leading journals in all of the sciences, 1984 to the present.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
- Health Business Elite
Provides full text for more than 440 periodicals detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
- Health Reference Center - Academic
Contains articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
- Health Source
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals.
- Historical Abstracts
The Historical New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical New York Times
Provides bibliographic references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This database indexes articles from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Provides bibliographic references for the history of science, technology, and medicine. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present.
- Humanities Abstracts
A selective database covering over 465 journals in the humanities from 1984 to the present. Includes not only feature articles, but also book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Also includes some non-English records.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Ccoverage from 1907 to 1984 of some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines in a wide range of interdisciplinary fields in the humanities and social sciences.
- Infotrac Newspapers
Features full-text articles from 150 newspapers. Includes news, sports, business news, arts and entertainment, lifestyles, opinion and editorial, and regional news articles.
- INSPEC
Cites scientific and technical journals and proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology.
- International Medieval Bibliography
The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
- Law Reviews
Find articles from law reviews and other scholarly journals.
- Legal News
Find articles from legal magazines, newspapers and newsletters.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- Markets and Industry News (LexisNexis)
Search news sources by keyword and industry.
- MathSciNet
Comprehensive coverage of the world's mathematical research literature, covering 1,700 serials and journals, 1940 to the present. It is the online equivalent of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
- MEDLINE
The primary index for biomedical literature. The database contains over 11 million references to journal articles in basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences since 1965.
- Military and Government Collection:
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.
- MLA
Cites journal articles, books, essays, conference proceedings and dissertations in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
- Music Index Online:
Indexes more than 775 international music periodicals. Topics cover every aspect of the classical and popular world of music, including all styles and genres of music.
- New York Times Index
Features full-text articles appearing in the New York Times over the past year. Includes news, sports, business news, arts and entertainment, lifestyles, opinion and editorial, and regional news articles.
- News (LexisNexis)
Provides up-to-date full-text articles from newspapers in the United States and around the world. Includes general news topics, continuously updated daily news, wire services, television/radio transcripts, student newspapers, sports, the arts, and non-English language news.
- Newsbank - Michigan
The electronic editions of selected Michigan newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- PAIS International
Indexes articles, books, government documents and other international materials dealing with current public policy issues and world affairs.
- Philosopher's Index
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Political Science Abstracts
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- PsycINFO
The premier psychology database indexing journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations from 1887-present.
- Public Administration Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- PubMed
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
International index listing articles, books, conference proceedings and dissertations about music. Topics include acoustics, aesthetics, ethnomusicology and performance practice.
- Social Sciences Abstracts:
Indexes a broad range of journal articles in the social sciences.
- Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological Abstracts
This leading index in sociology and related disciplines includes citations to articles, books, and book chapters.
- SPORT Discus
Provides bibliographic citations and usually abstracts to articles in scholarly and trade journals, dissertations, research reports, conference proceeding, and books on physical education, sports medicine, sports administration, and leisure and recreation among other topics.
- Times (London) Digital Archive
The complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985 is available, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
- Web of Science
The unique feature of this database is its indexing of citations. It is the online equivalent of the Science Citation Index (1945 to the present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to the present), and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975 to the present).
- Wilson Business Abstracts
International English-language business magazines, covering accounting, finance, management, and small business. Covers 1986 to present and is updated monthly.
- Wilson Select
Provides full-text articles from 1300 scholarly journals and popular magazines back to 1994. Special areas of coverage include science, humanities, education and business.
OR Browse Indexes by Subject
|