RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

K-12 Teacher's Resources

Content developed by:
Ruth Helwig, Systems Librarian /
Counseling and Education Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-2404
E-mail:helwi1rm@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 7/31/07

 

Search Engines
top
Internet Gateways
  • Busy Teacher's Website
    This website is designed to provide teachers with direct source materials, lesson plans, and classroom activities with a minimum of site-to-site linking.
  • Education World: Where Educators Go To Learn
    This site provides links to articles in the field of education, a large selection of lesson plans and activities, curriculum resources, technology and school issues resources.
  • ERD (Educator's Reference Desk)
    ERD provides many resources such as resource guides, lesson plans, a question archive, and more!
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
    "The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system designed to provide ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature."
  • Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
    This web site provides links to hundreds of Federally supported teaching and learning resources. It is compiled from the resources and input of over 30 Federal agencies.
  • Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
    Sponsored by the U. S. Department of Education. GEM provides access to high quality lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources on the internet.
  • Library in the Sky
    This site is maintained by the Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory. It contains over 1,500 links to some of the best educational resources on the internet.
  • Michigan Electronic Library
    This site provides links to selected resources in all aspects of the field of education. These sites have been reviewed for their quality and usefulness.
  • Sites for Teachers
    This resource provides links to over 600 useful websites for educators. Included among the links are websites that offer lesson plans, puzzles, worksheets, and links to all 50 state departments of education.
top
Research Databases
  • Education Abstracts
    Coverage of education topics from preschool through college in English-language periodicals and yearbooks.
  • Elibrary Elementary
    This database consists of newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio and video material, and transcripts.
  • ERIC
    Database of the Educational Resources Information Center.  It contains annotated references to published and unpublished education-related literature. 
  • JSTOR
    Designed to archive a few key journals in each discipline.  Provides full-text of selected education journals.  Does not include current years.
  • PsychInfo
    Indexes professional journals that include coverage of learning and education within psychology.
  • Sports Discus
    Indexes journals in the field of sports and recreation and includes information in the area of physical education.
top
General Internet Resources for Educators
  • Academy for Educational Development
    AED is an independent, nonprofit organization committed to solving critical social problems in the US and throughout the world. Major areas of focus include health, education, youth development, and the environment.
  • Best of the Web for Teachers
    This site contains links to sites that provide lesson plans, rubrics, clip art, and many other resources for educators.
  • Blue Web'n
    "Blue Web'n is a searchable database of about 1000 outstanding Internet learning sites categorized by subject area, audience, and type (lessons, activities, projects, resources, references, & tools)."
  • Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
    A website that offers a collection of more than 10,000 resources from the discipline related to child care and early education.
  • Classroom Connect
    Classroom Connect is developed by a unit of Harcourt Inc. It is designed to provide educators with professional development and curricular resources.
  • Discovery Education
    This site is provides a variety of resources for educators from the creators of the Discovery Channel.  This site provides lesson plans, teaching tools, ideas for science fairs, and much more.
  • Dr. Seuss Page
    This site provides fun activities involving the characters and stories of Dr. Seuss.
  • East Central Educational Service Center
    This site was created to serving the educators in East Central Indiana. It provides links to a variety of resources for teachers, including games, quizzes, lesson plans and information on multiple intelligences and autism.
  • Edhelper
    This site contains a wide variety of resources for teachers.
  • Education Podcast Network
    "The Education Podcast Network is an effort to bring together into one place, the wide range of podcast programming that may be helpful to teachers looking for content to teach with and about, and to explore issues of teaching and learning in the 21st century."
  • Field Trips Site
    Virtual field trips on nature topics such as rainforests, endangered species, salt marshes, volcanoes, and deserts.
  • FunBrain.com
    This site is developed by the Learning Network and offers games and resources for K-8 educators.
  • Global Schoolhouse Home Page
    This site is maintained by the Global School Net Foundation (GSN). The mission of the foundation is to "promote international online collaborative learning." This site includes ideas for collaborative projects, suggestions for educating students on international affairs, ideas for helping students learn about our world, and techniques for incorporating technology in the classroom.
  • Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
    A comprehensive gateway site to the best teaching resources on the internet.
  • MiddleSchool.net
    MiddleSchool.net provides curriculum resources for all major school subjects, as well as, resources for bilingual education, ESL, special education, and students with disabilities.
  • National Center for Early Development and Learning
    This site provides research, news, products, and sites that "focuses on enhancing the cognitive, social, and emotional development of children from birth through age eight."
  • Scholastic Internet Center
    Scholastic Inc. supports this site to provide educators with curriculum resources and other materials that will enhance learning. Included are lesson plans, professional resources, interactive projects and activities for grades K - 8.
  • Smithsonian Education
    This is a wonderful site for educators, families, and students. The educator section provides a large resource of lesson plans, field trips, websites, publications, products, and professional development that is searchable by grade level, subject, and keywords.
  • Spelling Tools
    This site provides teachers with spelling resources. Check out the Word Study Links section for games interesting games, quizzes, and other resources.
  • TeachersFirst.com
    TeachersFirst is a collection of lessons and web resources for K-12 classroom teachers. Materials are arranged by subject area and grade level.
  • UNESCO Education Section
    This site provides links to worldwide resources in the field of education. It includes information on such topics as class projects, lifelong learning, inclusion, and literacy and provides an international focus to these topics.
top
Art Resources for Educators
  • Artgames
    This site features art experience for children ages 4 to 12. Students can learn about color, portraits, still lifes, and landscapes.
  • Kinderart
    This site offers over 1,000 art lesson plans as well as bulletin boards, crafts projects, and tips for teachers.
top
English and Literature Resources for Educators
  • Bartleby.com
    Free online resources in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Appropriate for grades 6 - 12.
  • BookHive
    "BookHive is a web site designed for children ages birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children's books. Providing reader's advisory service, this site contains hundreds of recommended book reviews in a variety of reading levels and interest areas."
  • Children's Literature Web Guide
    Internet resources related to books for children and young adults. It includes information about authors, book reviews, and lesson plans for educators.
  • Scottish Storytelling
    A link to Scotland's timeless shared stories for all ages.
  • Starfall
    Short stories that concentrate on a vowel or blend sound. By clicking on a word, help is given. Primarily designed for first grade, Starfall.com is also useful for pre-kindergarten, kindergarten and second grade.
  • Story Place
    This site provides reading lists, print out activities, interactive stories and more for elementary and preschool students and teachers. Site is available in both English and Spanish
  • Top English Teaching
    This website provides various links for educational activities, resources, material as well as professional material.
  • Web English Teacher
    "Web English Teacher presents the best of online English/Language Arts teaching resources: lesson plans, WebQuests, videos, biography, e-texts, criticism, jokes, puzzles, and classroom activities."
top
Mathematics Resources for Educators
  • A+ Math
    A+Math allows you to create custom flashcards and worksheets. It also provides Java flashcards and other online games for classroom activities.
  • Awesome Library-Math
    This site provides resources of lesson plans, discussions, games, and more for different grade levels and subjects.
  • EquMath.net Math Lessons
    Browse more than 3,700 Math pages filled with short and easy-to-understand explanations. Ideal as a study site for high school students.
  • Math.com
    Site includes lesson plans and classroom resources as well as homework help and practice for students.
  • MathForum
    This site provides resources for teachers and students It includes discussions for math educators, lessons, interactive projects, and math education content.
  • Mathematics WWW Virtual Library
    This site provides resources for math educators and their students.
  • Montessori Math Album
    This site demonstrates the Montessori method to mathematics in almost 50 lesson plans designed for lower elementary or pre-kindergarten. Although most lesson plans require Montessori manipulative materials, many of the plans can be modified for regular classroom use.
  • PBS TeacherSource--- Math
    At this website, you can select grade-level appropriate lesson plans and activites based on different subjects, as well as link to reccomended books and websites.
  • NCTM Illuminations
    "Illumination is designed to provied standards-based resources that improve teaching and learning of mathematics for all students."
top
Science Resources for Educators
  • Albert Einstein Online
    Award winning site covering the life and work of Albert Einstein.
  • Bill Nye the Science Guy
    Official Site of the NSF Sponsored PBS show. Has lots of great information for students and teachers, along with tons of science experiments that you can do at home.
  • Cascades Volcano Observatory (USGS)
    One section of the website is devoted to resources for educators. It includes information on current volcanic activity, information on volcanoes, terminology, and "fun" activities.
  • Cells Alive!
    This site includes multiple interactive, downloadable video clips and still images of various cells and living organisms with a particularly useful explaination of the role they play in life cycles.
  • Dolphin Log (Cousteau Society)
    This website is aimed at children and provides information on marine life, including quizzes on the oceans and sea life.
  • Earth and Sky
    This site is produced by the creators of the Earth and Sky radio program. It includes ideas for educators on how to incorporate astronomy, earth sciences, ecology, and anthropology into the classroom.
  • Earth Science World ImageBank
    The Earth Science World ImageBank is a service provided by the American Geological Institute (AGI). This ImageBank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.
  • Educational Space Simulations Project
    The purpose of this site is to promote the development of education via simulation. The primary focus of this site is space simulations.
  • Environmental Literacy
    This website is a produced by The Environmental Literacy Council. The site provides a fundamental understanding about the systems of the natural world and is a great environmental resource.
  • Environmental Education on the Internet
    This site is prepared by the North American Association for Environmental Education. It includes a section on classroom resources in environmental education.
  • Franklin Institute Science Museum Education Hotlist
    An organized list of resources on the Internet that science educators, as well as science enthusiasts, may find useful. The resources have been screened for their educational appropriateness.
  • How Stuff Works
    This website provides explanations of how things work.  It is a good science resource for teachers and parents.
  • Internet Resources in the Earth Sciences
    This site is maintained by the University of California at Berkeley and contains links to many resources in the earth sciences.
  • Michigan Electronic Library Resources in the Sciences for Educators
    This site provides links to selected resources in all aspects of the field of education. These sites have been reviewed for their quality and usefulness.
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (Resources for Educators)
    This site provides resources for educators on such topics as weather [tornadoes, hurricanes, flash floods, tsunamis], climate [climate change, earth science and sciences as it relates to our planet], oceans and coasts [fish, marine mammals, our coasts, navigation], satellites and space.
  • Newton's Apple
    The popular science TV show has posted Discussions based on its TV series on topics such as acid rain, bee stings, and so on. The discussion provides the background information.
  • Ocean Planet
    This site was provides a tour of the Ocean Planet exhibition at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History. It includes a set of lessons and marine science activities which adapt several themes of the exhibition for use in the middle and high school classroom.
  • Sci4Kids
    This is an interactive, engaging website that children can navigate to learn about science through stories about animals, rail, and so on.
  • The Invention Factory
    "Explore inventing at the West Orange Laboratories, the Invention Factory where Thomas Edison and his muckers completed more than half of Edison's 1,093 patents."
  • The Space Place
    The Space Place is maintained by NASA in provide kids and teachers with information on space science. The site includes lesson plans for teachers who want to bring space related activities to their classroom.
  • Thermal Emission Imaging System
    This site is a virtual website that allows students to explore Mars.
  • Thinking Fountain
    The Thinking Fountain is an interacive website from the Science Museums of Minnesota, and its A to Z listing of course materials includes activities and children's books.
  • US Environmental Protection Agency
    The EPA has lesson plans and materials for teacher and games and activities for students organized by lower and upper elementary grades.
  • US Geological Service Resources for Educators
    The USGS has compiled a list of resources for educators. This site includes lesson plans and links to valuable resources in the earth sciences, the life sciences and geography.
  • Volcano World
    Resources on volcanoes, including lessons plans and teacher resources.
  • Yahoo! Science
top
Social Studies Resources for Educators
General History
  • American Civil War Home Page
    "The American Civil War Homepage gathers together in one place hypertext links to the most useful identified electronic files about the American Civil War (1861-1865)."
  • American Memory Home Page [Library of Congress]
    "American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States."
  • BCC Modern World History
    The British Broadcasting Corporation's website on history featuring timelines, biographies, games, and printousts from ancient to recent history.
  • Benjamin Franklin
    This website contains some of Ben's own writings.
  • Clarke Historical Library [Central Michigan University]
    Information on Michigan history and the Northwest Territory.
  • From Revolution to Reconstruction
    This website covers American history from the colonial period until Modern Times.
  • History Happens
    Songs, teacher's guides, lesson plans and other history resources for educators.
  • MeL History Resources
    Quality resources in the subject of history that have been reviewed and selected for their content.
  • MeL Michigana
    "Digitized historical resources from around Michigan including photographs of people, places and objects; diaries of Civil War soldiers; unique local histories and much more."
  • Plans to Analyze World Events, Wars, and Crises
    This site provides lessons, guides, links, and other resources on recent historical events.
  • Presidents of the United States
    This resource includes background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents.
  • State Archives of  Michigan
    The State Archives of Michigan houses documents dating back to 1792. It includes more than 80 million state and local government records and private papers, 300,000 photographs and 500,000 maps, plus films and audio tapes are available for public research.
  • The Benjamin Franklin Tercentenary
    "The Benjamin Franklin Tercentenary is a private, non-profit alliance established to mark the three-hundred-year anniversary of Benjamin Franklin’s birth..." This site contains interactive Benjamin Franklin exhibits and educational resources including lesson plans.
  • The History Channel
    This site provides many articles, biographies and video clips as well as a classroom section with study guides, quizzes, and teaching ideas.
  • The Making of Modern Michigan
    "The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more."
  • USFlag.org
    A site dedicated to the U.S. flag that contains historical information about the American flag and varous patriotic writings, information about flag ettiquette, and images of past flags and state flags.
  • Virtual Library - History Section
    This site provides links to a variety of history resources. The sites are arranged by region of the world, chronologically, and by historical topic.
Government & Politics Museums
top
Online Journals
top
Dictionaries
  • Lexicon of Learning
    The Lexicon of Learning is maintained by the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.  It is designed to "provide clear definitions of educational terms."
top
Style Guides
top
Organizations and Associations
top