RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

Music Resources

Content developed by:
Beth Macleod, Reference Librarian/
Art and Music Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-2285
E-mail:beth.macleod@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 9/19/07

 

MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS
Brass: Harp: Organ: Percussion: Piano: Strings: Winds:
top
CHAMBER MUSIC
  • Chamber Music America
    Promotes the performance of chamber music and provides performing opportunities to professional musicians who specialize in this art form.
top
CONDUCTORS
  • Conductors Guild
    This is the only music service organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the art of conducting and to serving the artistic and professional needs of conductors. It has over 1,850 members in all fifty United States and thirty other countries.
top
COMPOSITION
  • American Composers Alliance
    Provides a variety of services for its composer/members, such as printing and selling copies of members' works, and negotiating rental fees.
  • American Composers Forum
    An organization whose mission is to link communities with composers and performers, encouraging the making, playing, and enjoyment of new music.
  • American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
    Represents songwriters, composers and music publishers in all areas of music; distributes public performance royalties royalties to its affiliates.
  • Broadcast Music, Inc.
    Represents composers, music publishers, and song writers in all areas of music; distributes royalties to its affiliates for public performance.
  • Meet the Composer
    Through a range of commissioning, residency and education, the organization's goal is to increase opportunities for composers by fostering the creation, performance, dissemination and appreciation of their music.
top
COMPUTER MUSIC
top
CONTEMPORARY MUSIC AND JAZZ
  • American Music Center
    A national service and information center for new American music. Services include a monthly web magazine about new music, an online library and listening room, a monthly listing of new music opportunities for AMC members, and other career suported publications.
  • The Blues Foundation
    A non-profit organization headquartered in Memphis, Tennessee, whose mission is to preserve Blues, celebrate Blues excellence, support Blues education and ensure the future of this unique American art form.
top
COPYRIGHT
  • Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians
    Includes the full text of various guidelines relevant to music and education as adopted by music professional organizations. Also links to frequently asked questions, and to other Internet sources about copyright.
top
EARLY MUSIC
  • Early Music America
    A non-profit service organization for the field of historical performance in North America. EMA's goal is to expand awareness of and interest in the music of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque and Classical periods. Membership includes professional performers, ensembles, presenters, instrument makers, amateur musicians and audience members.
top
EDUCATION
  • American Bandmasters Association
    An organization dedicated to honoring outstanding achievement, working for progress toward an international band instrumentation, and encouraging prominent composers of all countries to write for the concert band.
  • American Musicological Society
    An organization whose goal is to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.
  • American Orff-Schulwerk Association
  • American School Band Directors Association
    An organization dedicated to promoting the importance of the school band and insuring its place in the curriculum.
  • American String Teachers Association/National School Orchestra Association
    An organization promoting excellence in string and orchestra teaching, enhancing the image and visibility of string teaching study, and providing a community of string teachers and players
  • College Band Directors National Association
  • College Music Society
    A consortium of college, conservatory, university and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music. Its mission is to promote music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction.
  • International Association of Jazz Educators
    An organization dedicated to the worldwide growth and development of jazz and jazz education. It initiates programs which promote the understanding and appreciation of jazz and its heritage, provides guidance to educators regarding curricula, aesthetics and performance, assists teachers and practitioners with information and resources, and takes an active part in organizing clinics, festivals and symposia at local, regional, national and international levels.
  • MENC: The National Association for Music Education
    An organization dedicated to the celebration and preservation of cultural heritage through music, and advancing music education by encouraging the study and making of music by all individuals.
  • Music Teachers National Association
    An organization whose mission is the advancement of the value of music study and music-making to society and to support the professionalism of music teachers.
  • Organization of American Kodaly Educators
  • Thelonius Monk Institute of Jazz
    A non-profit education organization with the mission of offering the world's most promising young musicians college-level training by America's jazz masters and to present public school-based jazz education programs for young people around the world.
top
FUNDING
top
MUSIC PUBLISHERS
top
MUSIC SCHOOLS
top
MUSIC THERAPY
  • American Music Therapy Association
    An organization whose mission is the advancement of public awareness of the benefits of music therapy and increased access to quality music therapy services in the United States.
top
OPERA
top
ORCHESTRAS
  • American Symphony Orchestra League
    This organization provides leadership and service to American orchestras while communicating to the public the value and importance of orchestras and the music they perform. It serves nearly 1,000 member symphony, chamber, youth and collegiate orchestras of all sizes and provides a wealth of services, information and educational opportunities to its members.
top
VOICE
top
WOMEN
  • International Alliance for Women and Music
    This is a global network of women and men working to increase and enhance musical activities, opportunities and promote gender equality. IAWM builds awareness of women's contributions to musical life through its publications, website, international competitions, conferences, congresses, concert promotions and presentations. The organization incorporates three organizations: the International Congress on Women in Music, the American Women Composers, and the International League of Women Composers.
top
WORLD MUSIC
  • World Music Institute
    A non-profit, concert-presenting organization dedicated to the research and presentation of the finest in traditional and contemporary music and dance from around the world. WMI supports and encourages musicians from immigrant communities and collaborates with universities, cultural organizations, and other presenting organizations that have similar goals.
top