|
| Background Information - Reference Books in the Library |
| Encyclopedias:
- Encyclopedia of American parties, campaigns, and elections JK9 .B56 1999
- Encyclopedia of interest groups and lobbyists in the United States JK1118 .N47 2000
- Encyclopedia of third parties in America REF JK2261 .E474 2000
- Encyclopedia Of Politics : The Left And The Right REF JA61 .E54 2005
- Encyclopedia of presidential campaigns, slogans, issues, and platforms E176.1 .R6 2004
- Encyclopedia of social measurement REF H62 .E53 2005
- International encyclopedia of elections (REF JF 1001 .I57 2000)
Others:
- America at the polls : a handbook of American presidential election statistics (REF JK524 .A73 1994)
- American governors and gubernatorial elections, 1775-1978 (REF JK2447 .G53)
- American national election study (REF H62)
- America votes (REF JK1967 .A8)
- CPS American national election study (REF H62 .I25)
- Congressional Quarterly's guide to U.S. elections (REF JK1967 .C662 1994)
- Congressional Quarterly's politics in America (REF JK1012 .C63)
- Continuity guide to the American national election studies of the Center for Political Studies (REF HN90.P8 C75)
- Election data book REF JK1967 .E4)
- Electoral college; a selective annotated bibliography (REF Z7165.U5 S95)
- Gallup poll (REF HN90.P8 G3)
- Gubernatorial elections, 1787-1997 (REF JK2447 .G76 1998)
- Historical atlas of state power in Congress, 1790-1990 (REF G1201.F7 M3 1993)
- Historical atlas of political parties in the United States Congress 1789-1989 (REF G1201.F9 M26 1989)
- Measures of political attitudes (REF JA74.5 .M44 1999t)
- Open secrets: the encyclopedia of congressional money & politics (REF JK1991 .M26 1994)
- People speak : American elections in focus (JK1967 .P39 1990)
- Political parties & elections in the United States : an encyclopedia (REF JK2261 .P633 1991)
- Presidential also-rans and running mates, 1788 through 1996 (REF E175.1 .S695 1998)
- Presidential elections since 1789 (REF JK524 .C65 1975x)
- Pursuit of the White House : a handbook of presidential election statistics and history (REF JK524 .T44 1987)
- Racial attitudes in fifteen American cities (REF H62 .I29 no.3500 v.1:pt.1.2.)
- Real life dictionary of American politics : what they're saying and what it really means (REF JK9 .H55 1994)
- Right guide : a guide to conservative and right-of-center organizations (REF JA1 .R53x)
- SRC election study (REF H62 .I25)
- State legislative elections : voting patterns and demographics (REF JK1967 .B36 1998)
- Statistical abstract of the United States
- Statistical history of the American presidential elections. Introduction: Our national elections (REF JK1967 .P4 1968)
- Survey Research Center 1956 election study (SRC S417) (REF H62 .I25 no.7214)
- Survey Research Center 1958 election study (SRC 431) (REF H62 .I25 no.7215)
- Survey Research Center 1966 American National Election Study : post-election interview (REF H62 .I25 no.7259)
- Survey Research Center 1968 American national election study. Pre-election interview (REF H62 .I25 no.7281)
- Unity in diversity : an index to the publications of conservative and libertarian institutions (REF Z7161 .U63 1983)
- U.S. politics and elections : a guide to information sources (REF Z1236 .M39)
- U.S. presidential candidates and the elections : a biographical and historical guide (REF JK528 .H38 1996)
- United States Congressional elections, 1788-1997 : the official results of the elections of the 1st through 105th Congresses (REF JK1967 .D77 1998)
- Unity in diversity : an index to the publications of conservative and libertarian institutions (REF Z7161 .U63 1983)
- Verbis non factis : words meant to influence political choices in the United States, 1800-1980 (REF JK2261 .B618 1984)
- What they said (REF D410 .W46)
|
 |
| Selected Journals in the Library |
|
|
 |
| Research Databases |
- Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts of materials from public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis from 1975 to the present.
- PAIS International
Chronicling global public policy and social issues including education policy, health condition policy, labor conditions and policy, social conditions and policy, and population policy etc. The information is drawn from over 3,600 sources and covers from 1972 to present.
- Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1974-Current
Political science, American government, policy studies
- PsycINFO
Psychology database indexing journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations from 1967-present
- Sociological Abstracts
Index in sociology and related disciplines includes citations to articles, books, and book chapters.
- LexisNexis - Statistical
Statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.
- GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications - CMU has been a US Federal Depository Library since 1958).
Covering US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)
|
 |
| Internet Gateways |
Election
Political Parties
- Democratic National Committee
Contains news, hearings updates and extensive information of the Democratic National Committee.
- Green Parties of North America
Covers the Green Party platforms, candidates, events and contact information.
- Libertarian Party
Includes the Libertarian Party's philosophy, membership information, current activities, directories, official documents, information by state and more.
- Reform Party
Contains headlines, party platforms, state information and an interactive gallery.
- Republican National Committee
Links to news, video clips and chat line and more.
Political Opinion and Attitudes
|
 |
| |
|