|
| Background Information - Reference Books in the Library |
Encyclopedias and dictionaries:
- Clements' encyclopedia of world governments (REF JF37 .C53)
- Encyclopedia of Soviet life / by Ilya Zemtsov.; Reference; JA64.R8 Z44 1991
- Encyclopedia of war crimes and genocide HV6322.7 .H67 2006
- Encyclopedia of world political systems JF51 .D465 2000
- International encyclopedia of elections (REF JF 1001 .I57 2000)
- International encyclopedia of public policy and administration (REF H97 .I574 1998)
- World encyclopedia of parliaments and legislatures REF JF511 .W67 1998
- World encyclopedia of political systems and parties (REF JF 2011 .W67 1999)
- Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (REF G63 .W67 2001t)
- Dictionary of British politics JN11 .J66 2004
- Dictionary of politics : selected American and foreign political and legal terms (REF JA61 .R39 1978)
- Dictionary of the political thought of the People's Republic of China JQ1501.A25 H4 2001
- Oxford companion to politics of the world (REF JA61 .O95 2001)
Others:
- Far Eastern politics : China, Japan, Korea, 1950-1975 : an index to International political science abstracts volumes 1 to 25 (JA36 .I5 Suppl) index
- Governments of the world : a student companion (REF JF127 .P56 1998)
- Index to international public opinion (REF HM261 .I552)
- International brief (online)
- International handbook of political science (REF JA71 .I57)
- International year book and statesmen's who's who (REF JA51 .I57)
- Middle East Abstracts and index (Index DS41 .M44)
- Political handbook of the world (REF JF37 .P6)
- Political parties of the Middle East and North Africa (REF JQ1758.A979 P65 1994)
- Political parties of the Americas : Canada, Latin America, and the West Indies (REF JL195 .P64 1982)
- Political parties of the world (REF JF2051 .D39)
- Political role of the military : an international handbook (JF195.C5 P67 1996)
- Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific REF HA1665 .S73x
- Times guide to the nations of the world : history, politics, geography, statistics, maps and flags (REF G122 .T55 1994)
- Times yearbook of world affairs (REF D410 .T55x 1978)
|
 |
| Selected Journals in the Library |
|
|
 |
| Research Databases |
- PAIS International
Chronicling global public policy and social issues including education policy, health condition policy, labor conditions and policy, social conditions and policy, and population policy etc. The information is drawn from over 3,600 sources and covers from 1972 to present.
- Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts of materials from public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis from 1975 to the present.
- Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. The Military & Government Collection™ provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1974-Current
Political science, American government, policy studies
- LexisNexis - News
International news and non-English language sources.
- LexisNexis - World Almanac & Book of Facts
- GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications - CMU has been a US Federal Depository Library since 1958).
Covering US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)
|
 |
| Internet Gateways |
Countries
International Topics Related Sites
- CSIS: Center for Strategic & International Studies
This organization is bipartisan in its views and provides analysis of global issues and developments. The site focuses on three subject areas: (1) challenges to national and international security; (2) global developments; and (3) developing new methods of governance with specialties in technology, public policy, international trade/finance, and energy.
- Council on foreign relations
a nonpartisan membership organization founded in 1921, has created an informative, well-designed Web site that will interest students and scholars of international affairs.
- EUROPARL: the European Parliament on-line
The keen interest around the world in European Union activities and enlargement
- FIRST: facts on international relations and security trends a joint project of SIPRI and the International Relations and Security Network. Users can access 39 databases prepared by 18 separate centers, programs, agencies, etc., from governmental and nongovernmental organizations in eight countries in North America and Europe.
- Forced migration online
FMO provides instant access to online sources (texual and pictorial) about people displaced by either conflicts or natural disasters. The graphics-enhanced database is intended for pactitioners and academic researchers.
- Global policy forum
an organization founded in 1993, monitors global policy making at the United Nations.
- Global views and voices: articles, debates, and personal testimony on the world today
a collaborative project that intends to disseminate news stories and related materials collected around the world.
- Institute for Palestine Studies
- International Organizations
- Korea: the unfinished war It presents both facts and source materials on what the compilers maintain is "the often-overlooked war that helped define global politics and American life for the second half of the 20th century."
- MEMRI: The Middle East Media Research Institute
- National Intelligence Council the National Intelligence Council (NIC) is a CIA think tank that focuses on both current and long-term strategic issues.This Web site is an important resource for those conducting research into the history and current activities of US intelligence operations and foreign relations.
- Open Society Justice Initiative
It promotes "rights-based law reform worldwide" in the context of globalization, and the Web site is a model for an international effort.
- The Pew Global Attitudes Project from the PEw Research Center 'aims to gauge attitudes in every region toward globalisation, trade and an increasingly connected world'.
- Political Database of Americas this site succeeds as a comprehensive resource of current primary source documents and political information about Western Hemisphere politics.
- Political Science: A Net Station by the University of British Columbia Library
- Political Science & Public Policy Resources - International Relations
- Political Science Resources International Relations - University of Michigan Document Center
- St. Thomas School of Law Diplomacy Monitor
A convenient threshold to primary documentation useful in tracking and monitoring unfolding international events.
- United Nations - Economic and Social Development
- United Nations - International Law
- United Nations - Publication Databases
- United States Institute of PeaceEstablished in 1984, the US Institute of Peace "is an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created by Congress to promote the prevention, management, and peaceful resolution of international conflicts." Its site is an essential resource for the researcher of peace and conflict studies.
- The WWW Virtual library: international affairs resource Wayne Selcher, an Elizabeth College professor of political science, has assembled this online collection of Web sources dealing with international affairs as a part of the WWW Virtual Library system. This site now offers more than 2,600 annotated links arranged in carefully segmented categories.
|
 |
| |
|